>GGH pincushions

>

silk and velvet pincusion

Here are the two Great-grandma had. I really like the black one, silk and velvet. If I had only seen the other, I would have never known they were to be sewn together. I did know that they where pincushions, though, because they have sand or some such in them ( I could feel the weight and texture — I didn’t open any of them to see what it actually was). So I thought they were emerys at first, not the pieces of one pincushion. By the way, all the pieces are there to make a second one. I saw the basket piece before I saw the finished piece, so that was a great help in figuring it out.

ggh part done pincushion
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary L.
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 16:20:00

    >I am so enjoying Great Grandmother H.’s treasures….Thank you for sharing all the aprons etc. What a rich heritage! Arter enjoying your month of aprons, I have decided to do aprons for all the women in the family for Christmas’09….thanks for the inspiration. Mary L.

    Reply

  2. Aunt Jenny
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 18:44:00

    >My grandma had one like that…all in bright colors of taffeta and velvet. She said her mom, my great grandma had bought a box of scraps from a fabric company by the pound to use in crazy quilts. that is wonderful that you had a finished example..I never could have figured out THAT puzzle!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

