>crocodile stitch

>This is a similar in concept, meaning three-dimensional of look, to the snow queen. It’s not the same, but it’s pretty cool anyway. It is in Portuguese, but I thought it was neat enough for you to see. If you know how to crochet the visuals should be enough for you to understand how to do this.
I might have these in the wrong order; each one is roughly 10 mins., some are much shorter. She talks a lot; wish I understood her better because I am sure with that much talking I must be missing something. There are 10 videos. I have figured out she is explaining how to make the dress starting at the bottom hem up. I am not interested in making this dress, just the techniques employed.

There are some patterns on Ravelry that incorporate this technique if you like it. I have two of them, just have not looked at them yet. I wanted to try and understand what the stitches did before I read the patterns so in case they don’t make sense to me.

part 1 explaining first row

part 2 explaining second row

part 3 explaining 1st round of decreases

part 4: cutting and attaching thread to side to make front section of dress while making the back section open

part 5: filling decreases on back and showing back opening

part 6 continuing decreases

part 7 (haven’t a clue what she was showing here) I think she is saying to go straight up sides till you get to under arm.

part 8 after having traveled straight up the side with out decreasing. Also showing how to secure stitches to go under arm

part 9 decreasing around the bust edges, sloping in

part 10 just showing lacing of the dress and the cord to make the lacing

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. H J Hess
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 08:42:04

    >Beautiful fish-scale (escama) pattern for a lovely mermaid dress.Thanks for sharing..

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 08:55:48

    >Thank you so much for these you tube tutorials. Even though it was not in English, I could follow the pattern visually perfectly. And I only needed Step 1 and 2 for the "crocodile stitch" pattern. I did see the stitch on a triangle shawl online but they were selling this pattern. I never buy a pattern that looks this simple, because I know someone with a kind heart will eventually show us, like yourself. Thanks again. Happy Stitching, Melissa M.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

