Kumihimo: Japanese braiding

detail
My middle daughter has been teaching herself Kumihimo, Japanese braiding.  She is just a beginner and can make an 8 stranded flat braid and a 7 stranded round braid.  We have gotten her a few books so she can teach herself some more.  I love the fact that my children are like me if they do not know a skill they want to learn then they are willing to teach themselves.
 detail

Read more »

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WorkinDog30
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 11:54:08

    Can you please tell me what kind of cord you have pictured in this post? And what size it is?

    Reply

  2. sunshine
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 13:02:10

    this came with a kit but I know I have purchased some just like it a few years back at craft store eitehr ( michael's Robert's or Joannes) It is a real slick tot he touch cord usually used in jewlery making. So a bead shop may have it too. It is called satin cord also called rattail cord try here http://www.satincord.com/a_cord.html

    Reply

  3. WorkinDog30
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 13:04:25

    Thank you! That's exactly what I'm looking for! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:41:06

    Please, please, tell me how to make this kind of braid !!!

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:41:06

    Please, please, tell me how to make this kind of braid !!!

    Reply

  6. Anonymous
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:41:42

    PLease, tell me how to make this kind of braid !!

    Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:41:42

    PLease, tell me how to make this kind of braid !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

