learning to spin

IMG_4443
IMG_4445 I took my first class out of a series of 6 or 8 weeks can not remember at the moment.  We worked with drop spindles last night I have a long way to go before I do something that looks like nice wool yarn to me.  But this class was not about making pretty yarn but about the technique involved with the  spinning of the spindle, drafting of the roving , and washing of the wool fleece. Wish me luck!
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 10:22:09

    Very good job!! Spinning isn't easy! I have a drop spindle and a wheel, which I need to use more often. Good luck with the other classes!

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 10:22:09

    Very good job!! Spinning isn't easy! I have a drop spindle and a wheel, which I need to use more often. Good luck with the other classes!

    Reply

  3. nays
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 12:25:36

    Luck! I bought a cheap drop spindle once and gave spinning a go – couldn't get the hang of it at all so you're doing miles better than me – a class is a good idea πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. nays
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 12:25:36

    Luck! I bought a cheap drop spindle once and gave spinning a go – couldn't get the hang of it at all so you're doing miles better than me – a class is a good idea πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

