Spinning class…and how to clean a fleece

card and wool i carded

As you are aware if you follow this blog I am learning to spin wool.  The first week we learned drop spindle, and homework was to spin all the roving we were given as part of our class fee,  We had two types of wool for  assignment one shorter haired than the other.  OK I was the only one that actual spun all of both rovings I was given.  I never understand why people pay good money for a class then do not do the homework.  So I will go through the steps I did to make the lovley carded wool you see above.

Read more »

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nays
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 12:39:58

    Well done! I was thinking it looks like so much work… but then I thought of the days when people grew their own flax, then extracted the fibre for homespun linen!

    Reply

  2. nays
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 12:39:58

    Well done! I was thinking it looks like so much work… but then I thought of the days when people grew their own flax, then extracted the fibre for homespun linen!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 13:24:31

    Looks like you've got a really good teacher there! Dawn is actually what a lot of people use to clean their fleeces. I recommend Unicorn Power Scour if you end up washing fleeces often 🙂

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 13:24:31

    Looks like you've got a really good teacher there! Dawn is actually what a lot of people use to clean their fleeces. I recommend Unicorn Power Scour if you end up washing fleeces often 🙂

    Reply

  5. Mam'zelle Flo
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 14:07:50

    that's really interesting!! thank you very much! I'm just learning to spin too, and a friend offered to give me some of his shee'ps fleece. Now I know how to clean it! awesome 🙂

    Reply

  6. Mam'zelle Flo
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 14:07:50

    that's really interesting!! thank you very much! I'm just learning to spin too, and a friend offered to give me some of his shee'ps fleece. Now I know how to clean it! awesome 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

