Spinning milkweed fluff…Happy birthday Vova

yarn 2/3 milkweed 1/3 wool

I was told you could spin milkweed fluff so since I have milkweed in my yard and we are tarring out out yard currently I thought I would collect the fluff and give it a go.  The milkweed in my yard is not an accident.  My grandmother vova sent me seeds, my older sister sent me seed, and my middle daughter collected seeds.  Thus three spots in my yard had plants each from a different person.  My children and I collected the seed pods Saturday and removed the seeds from the fluff pretty simple just time consuming we collected about 14 pods.  Milkweed is poisonous.

How to do this read on if you want to and do it.  Do not blame me for any reactions you do this  at your own risk.

Read more »

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 14:15:58

    I've forgotten where I read it but I thought you spin the fibres from stalk of the milkweed plant, not the seed fluff?

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 14:15:58

    I've forgotten where I read it but I thought you spin the fibres from stalk of the milkweed plant, not the seed fluff?

    Reply

  3. Wendy Harbaugh
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 15:17:46

    you can do either way if you spin the fluff you spin it like wool. if you spin the stock you spin it like flax ie wet and it has to go through a rendering too to make it pliable enough op spin as well as spin it wet. Both are poisonous so be careful

    Reply

  4. Wendy Harbaugh
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 15:17:46

    you can do either way if you spin the fluff you spin it like wool. if you spin the stock you spin it like flax ie wet and it has to go through a rendering too to make it pliable enough op spin as well as spin it wet. Both are poisonous so be careful

    Reply

  5. Karl
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 04:45:09

    Hi- thanks for the post. I always wondered if one could spin milkweed fluff. Milkweed is not that poisonous though. The latex is mildly toxic but I've eaten the shoots straight out of the ground, the pods when they are young and deep fried the flowers in a batter. The root as well is medicinal.

    Reply

  6. Karl
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 04:45:09

    Hi- thanks for the post. I always wondered if one could spin milkweed fluff. Milkweed is not that poisonous though. The latex is mildly toxic but I've eaten the shoots straight out of the ground, the pods when they are young and deep fried the flowers in a batter. The root as well is medicinal.

    Reply

  7. Wendy Harbaugh
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 05:22:45

    As I said do at your own risk I had bad reactions and my children did not depends on the person

    Reply

  8. Wendy Harbaugh
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 05:22:45

    As I said do at your own risk I had bad reactions and my children did not depends on the person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

