>Is it Halloween or Thanksgiving

>

destroying a few pumpkins

scrapping Two of my children drew and painted on their pumpkins at Halloween.  Because they wanted to be able to have pumpkin squash for dinner around Thanksgiving.  So the destruction of their Halloween pumpkins has begun this morning to make room for their Thanksgiving squash.  After these are dismantled they will go into the crock pot to cook the whole day away.  Then tonight soft squash will be mashed and some had for dinner like mashed potatoes with butter and sour cream and the rest will go into the freezer for future dinners, cookies, and bread ideas. 

the carnage If you notice the stems are set into a separate bow.  I want to make some velvet Thanksgiving pumpkins if they dry well that is.  You make crushed velvet pumpkins (use your favorite pattern for this)  then you attach the dried steam to the fake pumpkin ( E2000 just do it neatly) for a nice effect.   This will not happen this season, but maybe for next year they will be done.

 dismantling

Roasted pumpkin seeds will be made today as well.

>Peppermint, Vanilla and Dark Chocolate

>

homemade fudge

What do all of these flavors have in common they are all different fudges I made on Sunday for Thanksgiving.  I got up at 4 am and couldn’t get back to sleep so this idea came to fruition I had been thinking about it for the last two days.  The top one is vanilla, left dark chocolate the bottom is peppermint candy cane,  I substituted 3/4 cup of crushed peppermint candy cane for 3/4 of a cup out of the four cups of sugar in the recipe.   Wasn’t sure it was going to work out but it did.  The color in that one is from the red and green stripes of the candy cane mixing together.  Sort of a pinkish with a hint of brown actually a nice color in real life.  The original recipe is from here I already explained my changes to the recipe if you want to do it that way.  All the batches I made I doubled that is why I had four cups of sugar as opposed to the two in the recipe.